top of page

NordicTrack Commercial 1500 Treadmill Review

The NordicTrack Commercial 1500 folding treadmill has a very competitive set of features for the $1,000 – $1,299 price range, and it has received praise from expert reviewers and actual buyers. Like ProForm, NordicTrack is owned by industry giant Icon Fitness, and they share technologies and features. Here are some of the Commercial 1500's leading features: 3.25 CHP motor – at the top of this range


20? x 60? walking/running surface – pretty much the full-size standard


Innovative -3% – 15% decline/incline capability – ProForm claims that the -3% decline setting works different muscles and increases your workout results


350 lb user weight rating – competitive in this price range


Wireless chest strap included for more accurate and continuous heart rate monitoring – most machines in this price group have this feature


Quadflex cushioning, which appears to be a mid-level cushioning system, though we feel NordicTrack’s website is vague on the details of all of its cushioning systems


Upgraded 3? speakers with iPod/MP3 input


iFit Live compatible, which means you have to pay an extra $99 for the iFit Live module to activate the system (This innovative technology, also avaiilable on ProForm treadmills, is receiving positive reviews for its entertainment and motivational value)


Lifetime frame and motor warranties, plus 5 years for parts and 2 years for labor – equals the best warranties in this price range and competitive even in higher price categories Overall, the Commercial 1500 is a full-featured machine and a solid competitor in the $1,000 – $1,299 price range. In fact, Treadmill Doctor named the NordicTrack Commercial 1500 the best buy in the $1,000-$1,299 category. Because of the size and weight of this machine , we recommend you consider the upgraded delivery options, especially if you will want the treadmill in a basement or an upstairs room. Also, it is necessary to follow the assembly instructions exactly to insure proper treadmill operation, so the in-home assembly might be worthwhile unless you are pretty handy. If you assemble it yourself, be prepared for it to take two people 2-3 hours. Here are some representative quotes from actual Commercial 1500 buyers: Solid, Full-featured, Quiet, Commercial Grade! The Intermix speaker system is convenient although the sound is nothing spectacular. Love it. Wife and I use it everyday. I’ve lost 7 lbs in 2 weeks using iFit. The commercial 1500 is very strong and stable as well as big! It was intimidating to see such a huge machine but I paid for the in home assembly which made it a much better experience. The iFit Live had really been enjoyable. So far I have used Jillian Michaels workouts. She is really motivating and pushes me just when I’m ready to quit. I did a lot of research before deciding on purchacing this treadmill. I could not be happier with my decision. I had the machine delivered and assembled and ran 5 miles on it that day. The console is clean looking and user friendly, the long belt and cushioned deck makes running on it very comfortable. I love how solid this treadmill feels, there is absolutely no shake until I get over an 8, and even then the shake is minimal. I am sure I will enjoy years of use on this treadmill. Solid machine, great purchase!


Love the commercial 1500, it is heavy duty and built to last. Assembly was easy and instrctions were very clear but it does require 2 people. The speed can be reduced all the way down to .5 which is great for my 85 yr. old mother-in-law who works out every day. I LOVE the built-in 2 speed fan and the Ipod port with speakers, it makes working out enjoyable. The -3 incline feature is also neat so you work different muscles. The reason why I don’t give it 5 stars is because the heart monitor is too eratic and doesn’t give consistent read out using either the grip handles or the chest strap.


I have owned this treadmill for almost a year now and my wife and I have logged many miles both running and walking. I run in 5k and 10k races in Maine, and this treadmill helps me stay in shape during the long, cold winter months. The speakers and display are awesome! I love the one-touch speed and incline settings! Definitely worth every bit of the price!


I’ve been running on this treadmill for just about a year. I has far exceeded my expectations…it really is like having a gym-quality treadmill in your home. In fact, most of the treadmills I run on in hotels (I travel frequently) pale in comparison to this machine. I bought the treadmill for the hardware spcifications first, but what made me choose this one over similar competitors is the iFit module. The integration with the ifit.com website is flawless. It tracks all of your workouts and emails you a daily/weekly summary after each workout. Also, it is pretty fun to use the Google Maps feature. Treadmill Specifications

Folding Yes Motor 3.25 CHP p_speed 0 - 12 mph Incline -3% - 15% Walking Surface 20" x 60" Footprint 80" L x 38" W User Weight Capacity 350 lbs Heart Rate Control No Hand Pulse Grips Yes, w/ wireless chest strap included Preset Programs 24 Console Display 8" backlit display Cooling Fans Yes TV/Sound System iPod/MP3 compatible + 3" speakers Treadmill Warranty & Shipping Info Frame/Deck Lifetime - Frame Motor Lifetime Parts 5 Years Labor 2 Years Return Policy 30 days Company Info Company Background NordicTrack is owned by fitness industry giant Icon Fitness.


Other Treadmills Best for Running and Walking:




bottom of page